Common Admission Test is a computer based Test though it was a written test before 2009. The CAT exam has five main components namely 

1. Quantitative Ability (QA)
2.Verbal Ability (VA)
3.Reading comprehension (RA)
4.Data Interpretation (DI)
5.Logical reasoning (LR)

The test is conducted every year by one of the IIMs on policy rotation basis.

1. Hold a Bachelor's Degree, with no less than 50% or equal CGPA (45% if there should arise an occurrence of the aspirants having a place with Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribe (ST) and Persons with Disability (PWD)/Differently Able (DA) classification)
2. The degree should be granted by any of the Universities consolidated by an act of the central or state statutory body in India or other instructive organizations built up by an act of Parliament or pronounced to be considered as a University under Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956, or possess an equivalent qualification recognized by the Ministry of HRD, Government of India.
3. Competitors appearing for the final year of bachelor’s degree/equivalent qualification examination and the individuals who have finished degree prerequisites and are anticipating results can likewise apply. If selected, such applicants will be permitted to join the program temporarily, only if she/he presents a certificate most recent by June 30, 2018 from the Principal/Registrar of her/his College/Institute (issued at the latest June 30, 2018) expressing that the competitor has finished every one of the prerequisites for acquiring the four year college education/identical capability on the date of the issue of the certificate.

Exam Pattern:
The Common Admission Test (CAT), like virtually all large-scale exams, utilises multiple forms, or versions, of the test. Hence there are two types of scores involved: a raw score and a scaled score.

The raw score is calculated for each section based on the number of questions one answered correctly, incorrectly, or left unattempted. Candidates are given +3 points for each correct answer and -1 point for each incorrect answer. No points are given for questions that are not answered. The raw scores are then adjusted through a process called equating. Equated raw scores are then placed on a common scale or metric to ensure appropriate interpretation of the scores. This process is called scaling.

Test pattern and duration

CAT Exam Pattern is unpredictable and it changes every year. Since last two years, the structure of the test has undergone a few changes.  CAT is a computer-based test which consists of 100 objective type questions. There are 3 sections in the test:

  • Verbal and Reading Comprehension (VARC)

  • Data Interpretation & Logical Reasoning (DI & LR)

  • Quantitative Ability (QA)

The test takers cannot switch between the sections and have to attend the test in a particular order. The order of the sections is same for all the applicants-

  • VARC

  • DI & LR, and

  • QA

Four scaled scores will be presented for each candidate: an overall scaled score and three separate scaled scores for each section. As the three sections evaluate distinct sets of knowledge and skills, scores do not correlate across sections. A high score in one section does not guarantee a high score in another section. Percentile rankings are provided for each individual section as well as for the overall exam score.

Subject Question Marks Durations(min)
Data Interpretation & Logical Reasoning 32 96 60
Quantitative Ability 34 102 60
Verbal Ability & Reading Comprehension 34 102 60
Total 100 300 180

Fees :

The fees for CAT exam is Rs.1800/- for general category and Rs.900'- for SC/ST/PWD

Important dates :
Tentative 8 Aug–24 Sep 2018
Admit card available
Tentative 20 Oct 2018
Tentative 25 Nov 2018
Results available
Tentative 10 Jan 2019


Post a Comment